Annual Report 2012

Director profiles

  • David Kirk

    Independent chairman

    David is the co-founder and managing partner of Bailador Investment Management, chairman of The Hoyts Group, a director of Forsyth Barr Ltd and a director of investee companies of the Bailador Fund: Viocorp, SMI and SiteMinder. He is also chairman of trustees at Sydney Grammar School.

    David was the CEO of Fairfax Media from 2005 to 2008. He was CEO and managing director of PMP Ltd from 2003 to 2005, and a regional president for Norske Skog from 2000 to 2003. He has also worked for Fletcher Challenge in senior executive roles and was chief policy advisor to NZ Prime Minister Jim Bolger from 1992 to 1994.

    David is a Rhodes Scholar with degrees in medicine from Otago University and in philosophy, politics and economics from Oxford University.

    He lives in Sydney, Australia.

  • Joanna Perry

    Independent director

    Joanna has extensive governance experience and is currently the deputy chair of Genesis Energy. Her directorships include Kiwi Income Property Trust, The Co-operative Bank, Sport New Zealand, Partners Life, and Rowing New Zealand. She is board adviser to Tainui Group Holdings.

    Prior to focusing on her directorships, Joanna was a partner at KPMG for 17 years. She was a member of the Securities Commission for 11 years, chaired the Financial Reporting Standards Board, and was a member of the Australian Accounting Standards Board.

    Joanna has a Master of Arts (economics) from Cambridge University and is a Fellow of the NZ Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales. She was appointed a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to accounting.

    She lives in Auckland, New Zealand.

  • Gail Hambly

    Non-independent director: nominee of Fairfax Media

    Gail has over 15 years' experience as a senior media executive. She is currently group general counsel and company secretary of Fairfax Media, and responsible for the provision of legal, corporate governance, internal audit and risk services to the Fairfax Group. She also plays a key role in the core management team.

    Gail is chairman of Copyco Pty Limited, a director of Company B Belvoir Limited, a member of the Advisory Board of the Centre of Media and Communications Law at Melbourne University, a member of the Media and Communications and Privacy Law Committees of the Law Council of Australia, and a director of the Story Factory – a not-for-profit providing education services with a special focus on disadvantaged children in Sydney.

    Gail holds degrees in law, science and economics.

    She lives in Sydney, Australia.

  • Greg Hywood

    Non-independent director: nominee of Fairfax Media

    Greg is currently the CEO of Fairfax Media. He has enjoyed a long career in media and government.

    A Walkley Award-winning journalist, he has held a number of senior management positions at Fairfax Media including publisher and editor-in-chief of The Australian Financial Review, The Sydney Morning Herald, Sun Herald, and The Age. He also held the position of group publisher of Fairfax Magazines.

    Greg has previously held the positions of executive director policy and cabinet in the Victorian Premier's Department and Chief Executive of Tourism Victoria.

    Greg lives in Sydney, Australia.

  • Sam Morgan

    Non-independent director: nominee of Fairfax Media

    Sam is the founder and former CEO of Trade Me Ltd, which was purchased by Fairfax Media in 2006. He is also a non-executive director of Fairfax Media and Xero Ltd.

    Sam lives in Nelson, New Zealand.